Defending New Jersey Clients Against Charges Related To Violent Crimes

If you are facing a violent crime charge, you are facing overwhelming and life-altering consequences that can ruin your life. Violent crimes are some of the most serious offenses heard in court. New Jersey courts aggressively prosecute cases and sentence people to amounts of jail time according to the nature of the crime. If you have been accused of a violent crime, you need to speak to an attorney as soon as possible. Your life and livelihood depend on it. Violent crimes include:

  • Murder and homicide
  • Armed robbery
  • Aggravated assault
  • Aggravated sexual assault

If you have been charged with these crimes, you need a law firm that can effectively defend you. Cohn Lifland has decades of experience defending clients who face serious charges. If you need our legal services, contact Cohn Lifland today.

Consequences Of Violent Crimes In New Jersey

There are many crimes that can be considered violent. According to New Jersey, a first degree crime is the most serious and most violent crimes fall under the category. Violent crimes in the first degree include murder, manslaughter and aggravated assault. A first degree crime carries the potential for 10-20 years in prison. A second degree crime carries a potential penalty of 5-10 years in prison. In the case of murder and homicide, one is most likely facing 30 years to life in prison. To know what penalty you are facing, contact an attorney immediately.

How A Crime Can Escalate To A Violent Offense

A simple charge can easily be upgraded to a crime in New Jersey. In the case of assault, charges can easily escalate to a violent crime. A simple assault charge is less severe. It comes with six months in jail, probation and fines up to $1,000. If you are in a fight, you may be facing this charge and it is dire enough. A simple assault charge changes when a weapon is used or the perpetrator inflicts a very serious injury to the victim. The once simple assault charge has now become an aggravated assault charge, which can include 5-10 years in prison, $150,000 in fines and a possible application of the No Early Release Act. In New Jersey, the No Early Release Act states that you have to serve 85% of your sentence before you are considered eligible for parole. Accordingly, with the use of a weapon or the infliction of a serious injury, robbery and sexual assault can be upgraded to "armed" and "aggravated," respectively.

Contact Cohn Lifland

If you have been charged with a violent crime, you should be aware that New Jersey courts are aggressive. You need an attorney with the experience to use all legal defenses to fight these charges. Cohn Lifland's tenacious defense attorneys will work tirelessly to conclude your matter in the best possible way.

We are committed to protecting you rights. Call Cohn Lifland today at 201-273-7169 or send us an email online. From our office in Saddle Brook, our lawyers help clients throughout northern New Jersey.