Over 90 Years Serving Our Clients

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Blog
  4.  »  New Jersey DWI Penalties

New Jersey DWI Penalties

On behalf of Cohn Lifland Pearlman Herrmann & Knopf LLP | Mar 29, 2017 |

New Jersey has strict penalties for driving while intoxicated. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission has guidelines of the consequences that anyone convicted of a DWI charge will face.

For a person convicted of a first-offense DWI, they will face up to 30 days in prison, three months without a license and a large number of fines. These fines include a $1,000 fine per year for three years, a separate $250-$400 fine, and other fees that go to the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center, the AERF, and the Neighborhood Services Fund. This is the case when the intoxicated driver was convicted with a blood alcohol content higher than 0.08% and lower than 0.10%. First offenses with a BAC of 0.10% or more have more serious consequences, including 7-12 months of license suspension, higher fines, and a possible order to install an ignition interlock device.

Second, third, or subsequent offenses have even more serious penalties. For example, second-time offenders may lose their license for 2 years, face up to 90 days in prison, face steeper fines than first-time offenders, the installation of an ignition interlock device, and up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center.

Third offenses within ten years can result in a license loss for 10 years, steeper fines than previous offenses, the potential of 180 days in prison, community service, as well as the installation of an ignition interlock device.

If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, you need to consider your legal options. It is important that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can fight your charges.