Over 90 Years Serving Our Clients

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Blog
  4.  »  Driver Penalty Surcharges

Driver Penalty Surcharges

On behalf of Cohn Lifland Pearlman Herrmann & Knopf LLP | Jun 5, 2017 |

When a person is charged with a driving offense in New Jersey, they are subject to pay a number of surcharges to the state. Many of these surcharges are issued for driving while intoxicated and can quickly become expensive. Other reasons for which the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS) will issue a surcharge may be for driving with an expired license, driving an uninsured vehicle, accumulating points on your license, or driving with a suspended license.

The most extreme surcharges are for a third offense of driving while intoxicated, in which a driver will be required to pay a $1,500 fee each year for three years, totaling $4,500. For drivers convicted of a first or second DWI, they will only be required to pay an annual fee of $1,000 for three years. If a person refuses to take a chemical breath test to measure blood alcohol content (BAC,) they will also be required to pay a $1,000 annual surcharge for three years.

It is very important that you pay these surcharges on time. If you receive a billing notice from the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System but fail to pay, your driver’s license will be suspended. If you refuse to comply with this order and continue to drive anyway, you will receive additional surcharges of $250 each year for three years. If you continuously miss surcharge payments, the NJSVS will file a Certificate of Debt on your behalf to the Superior Court, which acts as a judgment. New Jersey will then be permitted to collect your surcharge debt without your permission via the sale of personal property or wage garnishment. In addition, these debts accrue interest and are reported to credit bureaus.

If you have questions regarding the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System, you may want to speak with an attorney or the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.