Over 90 Years Serving Our Clients

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Blog
  4.  »  What are the penalties for marijuana possession in New Jersey?

What are the penalties for marijuana possession in New Jersey?

On behalf of Cohn Lifland Pearlman Herrmann & Knopf LLP | Oct 9, 2020 |


In New Jersey, it is unlawful to obtain or possess a controlled substance unless that substance was obtained by a valid prescription from a practitioner. Despite other states recently legalizing marijuana, New Jersey still considers marijuana a controlled dangerous substance for which you cannot obtain a prescription. As a result, there significant penalties for its possession within New Jersey.

If you are found to possess more than 50 grams of marijuana, you may be found guilty of a crime in the fourth degree, facing incarceration for up to 1.5 years and a fine of up to $25,000.00. Those possessing less than 50 grams of marijuana may be found guilty of a disorderly person offense facing up to 6 months of incarceration and a maximum fine of $1,000.00.

If you are found to possess marijuana on any property used for school purposes or within 1,000 feet of such school property or school bus, and are not sentenced to a term of imprisonment, you will be required to complete more than 100 hours of community service, in addition to any other sentence the court has imposed.

It is important to hire an experienced attorney if you are facing charges as a result of marijuana possession. If you have not had any prior controlled dangerous substance convictions, you may be able to avoid a criminal record through conditional discharge probation. If you would like to schedule a consultation, contact an attorney at Cohn Lifland today.