Cohn Lifland Pearlman Herrmann & Knopf LLP
Call Today:
201-845-9600

September 2017 Archives

Sexual Harassment in the Workplace

AdobeStock_117586360-1-768x512.jpegSexual harassment in the workplace is illegal both under federal and state law. In New Jersey, employees are protected under the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination. N.J.S.A. 10:5-1. Sexual harassment may occur to both men and women, whether the alleged harassment was intentional or not. There are generally two types of sexual harassment in the workplace: hostile-work environment sexual harassment and quid pro quo sexual harassment.

Speeding Violations and New Jersey's Motor Vehicle Commission

Copy-of-Fotolia_80752093_L-768x512.jpgIn New Jersey, receiving a ticket for speeding not only results in fines, but also motor vehicle penalty points that accumulate with each violation. The number of points a driver receives increases with excess speeds within New Jersey. A driver who is ticketed going between 1 and 14 miles per hour over the speed limit will receive 2 penalty points. A driver ticketed for driving 15 to 29 miles per hour in excess of the speed limit will receive 4 penalty points. A driver going in excess of 30 miles per hour over the speed limit will receive 5 penalty points. A New Jersey license holder may also be assessed 2 points by the motor vehicle commission if they receive a speeding violation outside of the state.

Practicing in Federal Court: Tips from the Bench

101217-cle-flyer-page-001-768x994.jpgOn October 12, the Bergen County Bar Association is presenting a Continuing Legal Education Seminar, "Practicing in Federal Court: Tips from the Bench." The program will feature a panel comprised of The Honorable Madeline Cox Arleo (United States District Judge for the District of New Jersey), The Honorable Michael A. Hammer (United States Magistrate Judge for the District of New Jersey) and The Honorable Leda Dunn Wettre (United States Magistrate Judge for the District of New Jersey). Cohn Lifland's Matthew Gately, Co-Chair of the Bergen County Bar Asociation's Federal Practice Committee will moderate. 

Reckless Driving in New Jersey

driver-1149997_960_720-768x512.jpgIn New Jersey, a person is guilty of reckless driving if they "drive[] a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person property[.]" N.J.S.A. 39:4-96. If property is damaged or a person is injured, it may be strong evidence of reckless driving. However, there does not need to be any damage or injury to be guilty of reckless driving.

I hired a home improvement contractor to perform renovations on my home. What should I know?

construction-370583-768x512.jpgThe Contractors' Registration Act (the "CRA") requires that no one offer to perform, engage, or attempt to engage in making or selling home improvements unless they register annually with the New Jersey Department of Consumer affairs. Home improvement contractors must also maintain and file proof of a certificate of commercial general liability insurance for a minimum of $500,000.00 per occurrence.

No Firm In Northern New Jersey Has More Experience Than We Do. Call 201-845-9600 Today To Put Our Knowledge On Your Side.

Email Us For a Response

Contact Northern New Jersey's Premiere Law Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Cohn Lifland Pearlman Herrmann & Knopf LLP
Park 80 West-Plaza One
250 Pehle Avenue
Suite 401
Saddle Brook, NJ 07663

Phone: 201-845-9600
Fax: 201-845-9423
Saddle Brook Law Office Map

Review Us